My favourite cities in the world


Right: Shijo-dori in downtown Kyoto, famous for its understated beauty


A few people have reacted to my recent Best of the Net column, Munich … probably the best city in the world. Now, i didn’t write the headline, and if you read the article you will see that what I am actually saying is that I concur with the recent article in Monocle magazine that Munich deserves the accolade of most liveable city in the world. As far as such surveys go.  I like Munich, but it’s not even my favourite German city.

So where’s my favourite? Well, i was recently bewitched by Hong Kong, but for its sheer understated beauty I’d have to pick Kyoto. For its commitment to contemporary culture, I’d opt for Berlin. For its food, I’d pick San Sebastian in Spain (with Osaka a very, very close second). And for its brilliant cycle routes, I’d also mention Stockholm and Portland in Oregon.

