Clouds over Castle Hill

After returning home from my around-the-world trip, I decided the best thing to do was to return to Huddersfield for a further five day break. It was good to catch up with my family and friends but the rain kept me couped up in Mum and Dad’s house most of the time and I started to get cabin fever.

Then, on Saturday, the clouds cleared presenting this outstanding view of Castle Hill in Almondbury. Although the tower you can see (right) is a mere Victorian folly, Castle Hill contains the remains of a Brigante fort and marks the site of the town’s oldest settlement, Almondbury. Some historians believe the site has been settled for over 4,000 years.

Saturday evening was even better. I travelled to Linthwaite to meet my old friend Max and we drunk many beers at The Sair Inn and watched the sun go down on the Colne Valley. On nights such at that, I think The Sair is the best pub in the world.