The Creative Review takes apart i – the mini-Indy launched yesterday – and finds it already deep into freesheet territory.

… does i really offer a quick-fix version of The Independent? There are opinion pieces for sure, but with news pages that segue a story on whether Bert from Sesame Street is actually gay with a smaller piece on the re-examination of the Nazi foreign ministry, it’s much nearer Metro territory than it thinks.

The analysis is useful, but not as detailed as that offered by Jim Waterson, an Oxford student, who blogs at World of Pop. Waterson compares the i with its big sister, the Independent proper:

“So far, so Metro. But if the words have weight behind them then I’m interested. By the time I get to the newsagents to buy a copy I’ll probably have scanned the BBC News headlines on my BlackBerry and know what’s going on. If I pay, I want content that I can’t get for free on my phone. If it contains more than agency copy then I’ll be tempted to buy it for a journey: anything to escape the cute animal pics and dreary writing found in the freesheets.”