Improving integrity online: towards a code of conduct for journalism on the internet

I finally got a hold of my contributors copy of The Phone Hacking Scandal: Journalism on Trial, published by Arima Publlishing earlier this year (proper academic research, which apart from playing skittles with little Isabel is why I haven’t been blogging so much). I contributed a chapter, the title is above, where I discuss the various  codes of conduct journalists need to abide by. I wondered why so few of them deal specifically with journalism on and from the net. Anyway, I was chuffed to be involved, it’s a splendid book.

Brian Cathcart / Alan Rusbridger / Tony Harcup / Tim Luckhurst to name but four. Much of it was serialised by Roy Greenslade in the Guardian, he left me out, but you can’t have it all.

PS: when I have a bit more time, I’ll upload the orignal academic paper.

